Mastering HR Certification: Your Comprehensive Guide from aPHRi to SPHRi

The Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) offers three distinct HR certification levels: the Associate Professional in Human Resources - International (aPHRi), the Professional in Human Resources-Intermational (PHRi), and the Senior Professional in Human Resources - International (SPHRi). Here's a step-by-step guide on how the process typically proceeds at an institute or through a study program until attaining an HRCI-attested certification:

Thu Sep 14, 2023

1. Choose Your HR Certification Level:

Decide which HRCI certification level aligns with your career goals and experience: aPHRi, PHRi, or SPHRi.

2. Identify Accredited HR Training Providers:

Research and select an accredited institute or training provider that offers HR certification preparation programs recognized by HRCI.

3. Enroll in a Certification Preparation Program:

Enroll in an HRCI certification preparation program provided by the chosen institute. These programs are designed to help you understand the relevant HR concepts and prepare for the certification exam.

4. Attend Training and Complete Coursework:

Participate in the training program and complete the coursework. This typically involves attending classes, workshops, or online modules, depending on the institute's format.

5. Gain Practical Experience (PHRi and SPHRi Levels):

For PHRi and SPHRi certifications, you will need to have practical HR experience. PHR candidates typically need 1-2 years of experience, while SPHRi candidates require 4-5 years.

6. Study for the Certification Exam:

Prepare for the HRCI certification exam by studying the relevant materials provided in your training program. This may include textbooks, practice exams, and study guides.

7. Apply for the Exam:

Submit your application for the HRCI certification exam through the HRCI website. Ensure you meet all eligibility requirements, which include education and experience qualifications.

8. Pay Exam Fees:

Pay the exam fees required for the certification level you're pursuing. Fees vary depending on the certification level and whether you're a member of HRCI.

9. Schedule the Exam:

Once your application is approved, schedule your certification exam at an authorized testing center or opt for an online proctored exam if available.

10. Take the Certification Exam:

On the scheduled exam date, take the HRCI certification exam, which consists of multiple-choice questions and scenario-based questions. The number of questions and exam duration vary by certification level.

11. Receive Certification:

 If you pass the exam, you will receive your HRCI certification, which is recognized as a prestigious credential in the field of HR. Your certification demonstrates your knowledge and expertise.

12. Maintain Certification (PHRi and SPHRi Levels):

To maintain your PHRi or SPHRi certification, you will need to earn recertification credits through continuing education and professional development activities.

13. Advance Your HR Career:

Leverage your HRCI certification to advance your career in the field of Human Resources. Connect with other HR professionals and stay updated with industry trends and best practices.

Red Learning

Red Learning
Unlock Your Potential with Red Professional Development Training Center...

Contact Us

Office No 6, Bin Gahadear Building
Behind Equiti Metro Station
P.O.Box 125778
Dubai, UAE

+971 4 341 6288 +971 52 353 2803 Location

Follow Us


TAX Registration no: 100518480700003

Disclaimer: “PMI,” “PMP,” "PMBOK" and “PMI Project Management Ready” are marks of Project Management Institute, Inc.
All our courses are accredited and approved by Knowledge and Human Development Authority (KHDA) in the United Arab Emirates. 

Copyright © Red Professional Development Training Center LLC

Launch your GraphyLaunch your Graphy
100K+ creators trust Graphy to teach online
Red Learning 2023 Privacy policy Terms of use Contact us Refund policy